REVISITED: 2014 NFL Regular Season Predictions

The NFL season is finally over. So how did I do in my predictions that I posted just before the season?

AFC North

Me             Final
Ravens      Steelers
Steelers     Bengals
Bengals     Ravens
Browns      Browns

What I got right:
Well, the Ravens indeed were back and the division came down to the wire for all three of the top teams. I also predicted the resurrection of the Steelers. Cleveland was once again in last, as I thought, but they still did much better than most thought…and yes, Manziel is indeed a joke.

What I wish I could take back:
Not much. The Bengals were better than I thought they would be, admittedly.


AFC East

Me             Final
Patriots      Patriots
Dolphins    Bills
Jets              Dolphins
Bills             Jets

What I got right:
The Patriots winning the division (yawn). The Jets sucking (duh). Geno starting, then giving the reigns to Vick, then starting again.

What I wish I could take back:
The Bills actually didn’t come in last! Crazy.

AFC West

Me             Final
Broncos     Broncos
Chargers   Chiefs
Chiefs         Chargers
Raiders       Raiders

What I got right:
Broncos win. Chiefs fall back. Rivers had a good year, statistically. Raiders came in last.

What I wish I could take back:
Nothing. The only reason I wasn’t perfect is because the Chiefs held the tiebreaker over the Chargers. Maybe I regret saying the Raiders have potential…

AFC South

Me           Final
Colts          Colts
Titans       Texans
Jaguars      Jaguars
Texans      Titans

What I got right:
Colts win. Jags don’t come in last. Bortles became starter for Jax before halfway point.

What I wish I could take back:
Predicting 6 wins for Jax and 8 for Tennessee. Also, Houston was way better than I think any of us thought.

NFC North

Me             Final
Packers     Packers
Bears         Lions
Lions         Vikings
Vikings      Bears

What I got right:
Packers win. Lions finish ahead of Vikings.

What I wish I could take back:
Holy moly…not sure anyone saw the Bears being as bad as they were. I certainly didn’t.

NFC East

Me               Final
Eagles          Cowboys
Giants          Eagles
Cowboys     Giants
Redskins     Redskins

What I got right:
Redskins coming in last. RGIII is a whiny baby. Eagles stayed competitive.

What I wish I could take back:
Not trusting the Cowboys…the one time I under-hype them, that’s when they live up to the talent they have on their roster. Good for them.

NFC West

Me               Final
Seahawks   Seahawks
Cardinals    Cardinals
49ers           49ers
Rams           Rams

What I got right:
Everything. The final standings, the Seahawks continuing to win, the Cardinals finishing ABOVE the 49ers, Kaepernick falling off. Patting myself on the back quite a bit here.

What I wish I could take back:
Nothing. #NailedIt

NFC South

Me                 Final
Saints             Panthers
Falcons          Saints
Buccaneers   Falcons
Panthers        Buccaneers

What I got right:
Not a lot. I said that I could see the Falcons, Panthers, and Bucs all going 4-12 as well as I could see them go 10-6. Cam Newton is still overrated. Turns out the Panthers were as bad as I thought they were…it’s just that the rest of the division was worse.

What I wish I could take back:
Thinking the Bucs could go 8-8. They were clearly the worst team in football by week 3. Thinking the Saints would run away with the division. Thinking the Falcons would have a revival. Thinking the Panthers would cease to be the luckiest team in football. Basically everything.

Leave a comment